ITpris Verktyg

Compared · checked 2026-10-24

The best free inventory management software

Free inventory plans are usually a taster: a cap on items or orders, one user, and the useful parts such as stock counts and alerts on a paid plan. Here is what each one gives for free, from its own pages.

We make Inventory, one of the tools on this page. Every fact about the other tools comes from their own pages, linked under each one, as they read on 2026-10-24. Prices and features change: check each site before you choose.

How we compared them

  • What the free plan allows: items, orders, users, locations
  • Barcode scanning, stock counts and low-stock alerts on the free plan
  • Orders and purchasing
  • Account needed, and where the stock data is kept

At a glance

The best free inventory management software: the main facts side by side (checked 2026-10-24)
ToolPriceFree plan limitsBarcode scanningAccountWhere your data is kept
Inventory oursFreeNone set by usUSB scanner in any browser; camera in Chromium browsersNot neededIn your browser, on this device
SortlyFree; Advanced, Ultra and Premium paid (yearly discounts)100 unique items, 1 user, 1 custom fieldIn-app barcode and QR scanning on every planSortly accountSortly's service (synced)
Zoho Inventory (Free)Free; Standard $29 a month yearly50 orders, 1 user, 1 locationBarcode generation on PremiumZoho accountZoho's servers
Feature by feature: ✓ yes, ◐ partly or on a paid plan, ✗ no, – not stated by the tool's own pages
FeatureInventory oursSortlyZoho Inventory (Free)
Items on the free planNo limit100 unique items Not stated
Orders on the free planNo limit (Orders) Not stated50
Users on the free plan111
Stock by location Yes Not stated1 location
Scan barcodes with a camera Partly Yes Not stated
USB or Bluetooth scanner Yes Partly Not stated
Barcode labels No Partly Partly
Stock counts Yes Partly Partly
Low-stock alerts Yes Partly Not stated
Import from a spreadsheet Yes Yes Not stated
Item photos No Yes Not stated
Custom fields No1 Not stated
Purchase ordersIn Purchase Orders Partly Not stated
Kits or composite items No Not stated Yes
Phone appWorks in the browser Yes Yes
Works offline Yes Yes Not stated
No account needed Yes No No

1. Inventory (ours)

Best for: A small shop or workshop that wants counts, locations and reorder alerts free, on one computer

Products and stock by location in the browser: scan with the camera or a USB scanner, receive, move and count stock, set reorder levels, and see the stock value, with orders and purchase orders in the sibling apps.

Good

  • No limit on products, locations or movements
  • Stock counts, transfers, reorder levels and a low-stock list free
  • CSV import with a validation report, and CSV export
  • Fulfilled orders take stock out (Orders); received purchase orders put it back (Purchase Orders)
  • Works on your phone, tablet and computer in the browser, even offline

Not so good

  • Camera scanning needs a Chromium-based browser (the browser's BarcodeDetector)
  • No item photos, no custom fields, no barcode labels
  • One person in one browser: no team, no sync between devices
  • Still being built

Open Inventory

2. Sortly

Best for: Visual tracking of a small number of items with photos and a phone app

Good

  • Item photos, folders, tags and inventory import on the free plan
  • Barcode and QR scanning with the phone, and offline mobile access with automatic sync
  • Activity history and inventory summary reports

Not so good

  • Free plan: 100 unique items and one user
  • Low-stock alerts, QR labels and check-in/check-out need Advanced; barcode labels, stock counts and purchase orders need Ultra
  • Third-party scanners from Ultra up

Sortly website · Sources: Sortly pricing and plan table

3. Zoho Inventory (Free)

Best for: Selling products with sales orders, kits and dropshipping at a very small scale

Good

  • Composite items, dropshipping and backorders on the free plan
  • Integrations with 3PL providers, Zoho apps, Slack and more
  • Mobile and Windows apps

Not so good

  • Free plan: 50 orders, one user and one location
  • Stock counting, barcode generation and serial or batch tracking are on Premium ($79)
  • Customer portal starts on Standard

Zoho Inventory (Free) website · Sources: Zoho Inventory pricing

Which one to choose

Inventory is our pick when the free plan has to do real stock control: counts, locations and reorder alerts with no item cap, installable from the browser and usable offline. It is for one person, without photos or labels.

Choose Sortly for a small, visual inventory with item photos on a phone, within 100 items. Choose Zoho Inventory for a business selling online that will grow into its paid plans; its free plan stops at 50 orders and one location.

Questions

Is there free inventory software with no item limit?

Of these, Inventory sets no limit. Sortly's free plan allows 100 unique items; Zoho Inventory's free plan is limited to 50 orders and one location.

Can I scan barcodes for free?

Sortly includes barcode and QR scanning with the phone on its free plan. Inventory reads codes from any USB scanner, and from the camera in Chromium-based browsers.

Which free inventory software does stock counts?

Inventory includes stock counts free. On Sortly they are an Ultra feature and on Zoho Inventory a Premium feature, as their pricing pages show.

Where is my stock data kept?

Sortly and Zoho Inventory keep it on their services. Inventory keeps it in your browser on this device; download a backup to keep a copy.

Names of other products are trademarks of their owners. ITpris Verktyg is not affiliated with them.